Changes to BGS Council

Changes to BGS Council

Monday, July 21, 2008

The Annual General Meeting held on July 14th 2008 saw the appointment of two new Trustees to the BGS Council, now headed by President Sarah Byford, Usk, Monmouthshire.

The new President-Elect is Dr David Roberts, head of dairy research at SAC's Crichton Royal Farm.

New national member is Athole Marshall from IBERS, University of Wales.

Also joining the BGS management team as advisers to the Trustees for the next two years are regional reps Laura-Biddick-Bray (south west), Heather McCalman (Wales), David Rhodes (central).

We would like to thanks those who have ended their service on Council for their valuable and generous input to the society during a period of rapid change. They are Nigel Young, Jon Moorby, Gary Yeomans, David Lee and Richard Simpson.

 For a full list of current council members see

Draft minutes for the AGM will be posted on this website within the coming weeks.


BGS Members BGS is a membership organisation which acts as a communication forum, through events and publications, for the profitable and sustainable use of grass and forage.

Local Societies

BGS Members Use our Local Society directory to locate your nearest societies, information resources and experts on grassland farming and foraging.