Grassland Farmer Of The Year

How To Enter

The competition is open to all full BGS members and local society members.  The entrant can be based anywhere in the UK, providing they go through the correct application procedure (detailed below).

  • The first stage of the competition requires the local society to judge and put forward the winning farmer from their society for regional judging. The winner must complete Sections A and B of the entry form (click here to download the form). Full BGS members can also enter at this stage by completing Sections A and B of the entry form. Copies of the form should be sent to the relevant Regional Council Member and to the BGS office.
  • The Regional Council Member (click here for full listwill arrange to judge each of the local society winners within their region (this may only be one) and any full BGS members from their region who have entered.  The regional winner is then put forward for national judging and must complete the entry form in full (click here to download the formand submit it to the BGS office.
  • There can be a maximum of eleven regional entrants, which may vary year to year. The four national judges, plus the previous year’s winner will individually review each entrant based on their entry form.
  • The judges will hold a teleconference to evaluate and agree on the final three which they will visit.  Only at this stage will the national judges visit the farms.

If you reach the final three of the competition you will not be allowed to enter the competition in the following year.

What are the important dates?

Dates for 2020

Local entries submitted to BGS and notified to Regional Council Member Friday 12 June
Regional Council Members to notify BGS of regional winner Friday 17 July
Deadline for regional winners full entry forms Monday 27 July
National judges select the three finalists Tuesday 4 July
National judges visit finalists farms Wed 19 – Fri 21 August

Local societies in Wales must use the forms and deadlines set out by the Federation of Welsh Grassland Societies (FWGS) to find their local winners and Wales regional winner.

The awards evening will be held in October.  More details will be provided nearer the time.

The Winner’s Farm Walk takes place in June.

Grassland Farmer of the Year Sponsors